Blogs

NFL: Correct call on Campbell play

Posted by Darren Urban on October 6, 2014 – 10:15 am

There already has been a lot of speculation on how the low block on Calais Campbell, the one injuring him, was a good call. The NFL this morning said that indeed, the Campbell play was a chop block, violating Rule 12, Section 2, Article 3 in items c) and d). From the league: “The officials threw the flag for the ‘reverse chop.’  Julius Thomas blocked Calais Campbell ‘in the area of the thigh or lower,’ as specified by rule, and Ryan Clady engages Campbell high “simultaneously or immediately after the block” by Thomas, resulting in the penalty.”

“The play also violated part c) of the rule, known as a “lure.”  While Thomas chops Campbell, Clady ‘confronts the defensive player in a pass-blocking posture but is not physically engaged with the defensive player’ ”

Thomas could be fined. Any fines are issued from the league later in the week. Those are usually announced Friday, unless the player fined says something about it. A look at the hit, courtesy SBNation:

CCblockgif



Former NFL head of officials Mike Pereira, now with Fox, had previously said he thought it was flag-worthy.


Tags: , ,
Posted in Blog | 77 Comments »